RUfDCG1464745541As a mother of two boys under the age of four, the constant bombardment of toddler tantrums wears away my normal optimism.  I shout.  I make threats.  I lose my patience, my plans, my goals, and my good moods.

I need the negativity gone.

In its place, I want my old ways back: my rituals, my divinations, my celebrations, my charms, and my spells.  Funny enough, the best place to start looking is a spell itself.

Dispel is the most important foundation spell a witch can learn.

This spell does three amazing things: release, banish, and cleanse.

Begin by wearing black.  When I feel my mood deteriorate black clothing is an instant help (though it doesn’t do much to hide sticky finger stains and the times my children use me as a napkin).  The color black is used by witches to remove discord and confusion.

DSCN0162

Second, pour sea salt into your favorite container.  I use a green glass jar because the color green aids in changes of direction and attitude.  An open container of sea salt absorbs negativity.  Salt crystal lamps are also a wonderful way to change the atmosphere around you and lighten your mood.

DSCN0169

Most importantly, sit down (or stand, or write on the run on sticky notes like me) and write a short list of what you need to release.  Name your negatives: lack of sleep, no inspiration, doubt, frustration, etc.  Burn this over a white candle.

Then, sprinkle rosemary and thyme over the white candle.  The color white banishes fear and doubt.  Rosemary is used for purification, and thyme is used for cleansing.  Let the candle burn out (I generally use tea lights as they do not have extended burn times and fit easily in a mason jar for safety).

While your candle burns, mix a cleansing bath potion:

Cleansing & Restoring Bath Potion

1/2 Cup of Sea Salt & Iodized Salt (combined in whatever ratio you prefer)

1 Tbsp of Baking Soda

Vanilla Extract (to personal preference)

Vanilla is great for restoring lost energy and improving the powers of the mind.  The sea salt draws out negativity as well as impurities (and makes a great exfoliate).  Soak in a bath for 15-20 minutes (or until your toddler escapes your husband and figures out how to open the door).

Afterwards, wear silver jewelry to ward off negativity and maintain your newfound balance.

Tools Needed:

  • Black Clothing
  • Sea Salt
  • White Candle
  • Rosemary
  • Thyme
  • Baking Soda
  • Vanilla Extract
  • Silver Jewelry
